Prime Minister Justin Trudeau was sworn in last fall, along with his 30-member Caucus.  The cabinet selections and the names of the new ministries indicate the priorities of the new government, and areas of focus for the restaurant and foodservice industry.
Restaurants Canada looks forward to working with the new government to represent your interests, and to remind all Members of Parliament of the importance of our industry.
Nineteen of the 30 new cabinet ministers are rookies, but veteran MPs in the Cabinet who know our association and industry well include Hon. Scott Brison, President of the Treasury Board and Hon. Dominic LeBlanc, the new Government House Leader.
Restaurants Canada also worked with Hon. John McCallum, Minister of Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship, when he was Liberal Immigration Critic. The inclusion of “Refugees” in the Ministry title indicates the priority on refugee placement, and may present an opportunity for restaurant employers to extend job offers to those being resettled in Canada.
Hon. Lawrence MacAulay, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food, is a former seed and dairy farmer. He is recognized as a strong supply management supporter, but Restaurants Canada will be reaching out to share our view on the need for reform in this area
Other cabinet ministers appointed to portfolios important to our industry include:

  • Hon. Bill Morneau, Minister of Finance.  His background with Canada’s largest human resources services organization indicates the priority the Prime Minister is putting on pension reform.
  • Hon. Jane Philpott, Minister of Health.  Minister Philpott’s background as a physician may signal more action on various health files in this government, and we are ready to be at the table on foodservice and nutrition issues.
  • Hon. Mary Ann Mihychuck, Minister of Employment, Workforce Development and Labour.  Minister Mihychuck is a geoscientist, and was a long-time Minister in Manitoba’s NDP government. We will want to work closely with her on a youth job growth strategy.
  • Hon. Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development.  This Ministry replaces the previous Industry portfolio and indicates a new focus on science and technology.
  • Hon. Bardish Chagger, Minister of Small Business and Tourism.  Ms Chagger is a former Special Project Coordinator for a multi-cultural centre, and she brings an important youth perspective to this portfolio.
  • Hon. Diane Lebouthillier, National Revenue Minister.  She owns a tourist-outfitting operation in the Gaspe, and we would expect her to have insights into the hospitality industry.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *